P
Preclinical
Preclinical
PNC-27 identity and membrane-HDM2 targeting
PNC-27 is a synthetic 32-amino-acid chimeric peptide containing p53 residues 12–26 and a membrane-interacting leader. In the 2010 study, membrane-localized full-length HDM2 made otherwise resistant untransformed cells susceptible to PNC-27.
Context: Preclinical cell models; p53-derived sequence does not mean restoration of TP53 function.
Limitations: Target accessibility supports the mechanism in tested models; it does not establish that every tumor expresses the target or that all healthy tissues are spared.
Route: Direct exposure in cell culture · Human route-specific absolute bioavailability, half-life and tumor exposure are not established in the sources reviewed.
Open this exact record in the library →Suggest a correctionPreclinical
Membrane pores: observed structures and proposed molecular organization
Immuno-electron microscopy identified PNC-27 and HDM2 labels around pore-associated ring structures. Structural calculations support a proposed peptide–protein pore assembly.
Context: Cancer-cell cultures and untransformed fibroblast comparisons; exact pore architecture remains a mechanistic interpretation.
Limitations: Laboratory selectivity is not comprehensive safety. Patent inventorship is disclosed by several authors. Independently replicated tissue-wide selectivity remains unresolved.
Route: Direct exposure in cell culture · Human route-specific absolute bioavailability, half-life and tumor exposure are not established in the sources reviewed.
Open this exact record in the library →Suggest a correctionPreclinical
Pancreatic cells: lytic injury in a conference abstract
PNC-27-treated MiaPaCa-2 cells showed concentration-dependent death, rapid LDH release and membrane pores without elevation of caspases 3 and 7.
Context: 2008 conference abstract/section snippets; daily direct cell exposure described, concentration not specified in retrieved text.
Limitations: Conference abstract only. No patient tumor response or survival endpoint; distinguish PNC-27 from the related PNC-28 molecule.
Route: Direct exposure in cell culture · Human route-specific absolute bioavailability, half-life and tumor exposure are not established in the sources reviewed.
Open this exact record in the library →Suggest a correctionPreclinical
p53-independent killing in K562 leukemia cells
PNC-27 colocalized with membrane HDM2 and induced LDH-associated cytotoxicity in p53-null K562 cells; murine leukocyte controls were spared under tested conditions.
Context: Human leukemia cell line with deleted p53; abstract reviewed.
Limitations: Supports a p53-independent pathway in this model; does not repair TP53 or establish activity in every p53-deficient cancer.
Route: Direct exposure in cell culture · Human route-specific absolute bioavailability, half-life and tumor exposure are not established in the sources reviewed.
Open this exact record in the library →Suggest a correctionPreclinical
AML: E-cadherin degradation and transplantation experiments
PNC-27 enhanced membrane HDM2–E-cadherin interaction and E-cadherin ubiquitination/degradation. In murine and human-AML xenograft models it reduced leukemia burden and leukemia-initiating activity; normal hematopoietic function was comparatively preserved in tested mice.
Context: Wang et al., online 2019/issue 2020; main text reviewed. Human AML xenograft primary recipients had median survival 136.5 days with PNC-27 versus 115 with PNC-29 and 111 with vehicle (n=8/8/7).
Limitations: Small animal cohorts; patient-derived cells do not make this a clinical trial. Hematopoietic preservation does not establish safety in other organs or human relapse prevention.
Route: Intraperitoneal administration in mice · Human route-specific absolute bioavailability, half-life and tumor exposure are not established in the sources reviewed.
Open this exact record in the library →Suggest a correctionPreclinical
Cancer-cell mitochondrial disruption
PNC-27-treated MIA-PaCa-2 cells lost mitochondrial dye retention while lysosomal dye retention persisted. Immuno-electron microscopy localized peptide-associated labels to mitochondrial membranes.
Context: 2024 primary abstract; mitochondrial injury studied in pancreatic cancer cells.
Limitations: Does not establish mitochondrial enhancement, increased energy, exercise benefit or general metabolic health.
Route: Direct exposure in cell culture · Human route-specific absolute bioavailability, half-life and tumor exposure are not established in the sources reviewed.
Open this exact record in the library →Suggest a correctionPreclinical
Patient-derived ovarian cancer: ex vivo findings
Primary cultures from two epithelial ovarian cancers showed concentration-dependent growth inhibition and cytotoxicity. Established and chemotherapy-resistant ovarian cancer lines also showed activity.
Context: Mucinous and high-grade papillary serous primary cultures; MTT and LDH assays, abstract reviewed.
Limitations: Patients provided tumor cells; they were not treated in this experiment. Two primary cultures cannot establish clinical response or broad tumor coverage.
Route: Direct exposure in cell culture · Human route-specific absolute bioavailability, half-life and tumor exposure are not established in the sources reviewed.
Open this exact record in the library →Suggest a correctionPreclinical
Cervical cancer cell comparison
PNC-27 was cytotoxic to HTB-35/SiHa cervical cancer cells (reported IC50 12.4 micromolar), while the PCS-480 nonmalignant comparison was spared. Membrane HDM2 was detected in malignant cells.
Context: 2025 primary abstract; one malignant/nonmalignant cell-line comparison.
Limitations: IC50 is a culture concentration, not an injectable dose or human exposure target. Cannot establish efficacy across cervical cancer subtypes.
Route: Direct exposure in cell culture · Human route-specific absolute bioavailability, half-life and tumor exposure are not established in the sources reviewed.
Open this exact record in the library →Suggest a correctionPreclinical
Experimental onset: hours in directly exposed cells
U937, OCI-AML3 and HL-60 leukemia cells expressed membrane HDM2; PNC-27 induced necrosis and LDH release within four hours.
Context: 2020 cell-culture study; primary abstract reviewed.
Limitations: LDH release measures membrane injury in culture. It is not a validated patient response test; culture timing does not establish clinical onset, cycle length or time to maximum benefit.
Route: Direct exposure in cell culture · Human route-specific absolute bioavailability, half-life and tumor exposure are not established in the sources reviewed.
Open this exact record in the library →Suggest a correctionPreclinical
Paclitaxel combination: preclinical synergy
Paclitaxel-surviving ID8 ovarian cancer cells showed increased surface MDM2 and susceptibility to PNC-27. Isobologram analysis indicated synergy, and combination treatment reduced tumor growth in a mouse model.
Context: Abstract: 12-hour paclitaxel exposure followed by 24-hour PNC-27 exposure in vitro; separate intraperitoneal ID8 ovarian cancer mouse model.
Limitations: Tumor implantation site is not proof of peptide administration route. No safe or effective clinical combination regimen established; animal dose/route not extracted from abstract.
Route: Cell culture and mouse model; peptide administration route not reported in retrieved abstract · Human route-specific absolute bioavailability, half-life and tumor exposure are not established in the sources reviewed.
Open this exact record in the library →Suggest a correctionU
Unresolved / evidence gap
Unresolved / evidence gap
Unapproved-product history and product-quality risk
The DOJ Bishop case describes unapproved products purportedly containing PNC-27, marketed for cancer and manufactured in nonsterile facilities.
Context: Official enforcement history concerning products distributed in 2015–2016, not a controlled pharmacology study.
Limitations: Product-quality risk is distinct from intrinsic biological toxicity. This historical account does not establish a current clinical-trial inventory.
Route: Not applicable · Human route-specific absolute bioavailability, half-life and tumor exposure are not established in the sources reviewed.
Open this exact record in the library →Suggest a correctionUnresolved / evidence gap
OM-301 identity and unresolved clinical translation
Oncolyze identifies OM-301 as previously PNC-27. No published prospective human treatment trial was identified in this review; human efficacy, dosing, safety profile and response timeline remain unestablished.
Context: Sponsor identity statement checked. Searches included PNC-27 and OM-301; direct ClinicalTrials.gov retrieval failed, so registry coverage is incomplete.
Limitations: Sponsor development statements are not independent efficacy evidence. Do not claim that no trial exists worldwide, or equate a development designation with approval.
Route: Human administration not established · Human route-specific absolute bioavailability, half-life and tumor exposure are not established in the sources reviewed.
Open this exact record in the library →Suggest a correction